About

The Colorado Open Space Alliance is as a Colorado-based non-profit under the Colorado Nonprofit Development Center. As a regional organization of publicly funded local government open space programs, we work cooperatively to share information, create public awareness, and foster partnerships needed to protect and preserve the special places of Colorado.

COSA strives to achieve its purpose by

  • Sharing Information - Provide networking, information, skills and resource sharing, training, mentoring, technical assistance, clearinghouse activities and communication among publicly funded open space programs.
  • Creating Public Awareness - Promote land conservation benefits and program successes.
  • Fostering Partnerships - Create and nurture partnerships to assist in program implementation, fundraising and large-scale projects among open space programs, landowners, land trusts, conservation and land use organizations, and other government programs.

Open Space Programs

Steering Committee

First Name Last Name Title Organization Email Phone
Rick Bachand Environmental Program Manager City of Fort Collins rbachand@fcgov.com 970-416-2183
Rob Burdine Open Space Superintendent City of Lafayette rob.burdine@cityoflafayette.com 303-661-1310
Bevin Carithers Ranger Supervisor Boulder County bcarithers@bouldercounty.org 303-678-6210
Alex Castino Program Officer Great Outdoors Colorado acastino@goco.org 303-226-4522
Lisa Dierauf Community Outreach Coordinator City of Boulder dieraufl@bouldercolorado.gov 303-550-1320
Steve Gibson Red Mountain Ranger Distric Manager Larimer County sgibson@larimer.org 970-214-8819
Diane Mauriello Eagle County Open Space Manager Eagle County dmauriello@eaglecounty.us 970-328-8698
Kristen May Open Space Stewardship Specialist City of Westminster Parks, Recreation & Libraries kmay@cityofwestminster.us 303-658-2191
Anne Murphy Open Space & Trails Manager Town of Breckenridge annem@townofbreckenridge.com 970-547-3155
Tina Nielsen Special Projects Manager Boulder County tnielsen@bouldercounty.org 303-678-6279
Kristan Pritz Director of Open Space and Trails City of Broomfield kpritz@ci.broomfield.co.us 303-438-6335
Matt Robbins Community Connections Manager Jefferson County mrobbins@co.jefferson.co.us 303-271-5902
Josh Tenneson Grants & Acquisitions Manager Arapahoe County jtenneson@arapahoegov.com 720-874-6723
Colin Waters Community Relations Specialist Colorado Lottery colin.waters@state.co.us 303-759-6830
Dan Wolford Land Program Administrator City of Longmont dan.wolford@longmontcolorado.gov 303-774-4691

A Project of the Colorado Nonprofit Development Center

COSA is a project of the Colorado Nonprofit Development Center (CNDC).

From COSA’s inception in 2000 up until 2016, COSA’s finances were held by Larimer County. This model has worked very well but as the annual conference has grown we started to explore options for a business model that would serve COSA into the future. The Steering Committee researched a number of options, including forming our own 501(c)3, and merging with a like-minded organization such as the Colorado Coalition of Land Trusts (CCLT) and the Colorado Parks and Recreation Association (CPRA). CCLT, CPRA, and other organizations host an annual conference and provide services that apply to aspects of the work we do as open space programs, but none of them are a perfect fit for the range of services under the open space umbrella. Ultimately we landed on the fiscal sponsor model, in which the sponsor provides the operational framework and back-of-house support while allowing us to focus on the work we do—mainly, putting on our annual conference.

CNDC is a 501(c)3 formed in 1999 by a group of community and foundation leaders to provide support to the nonprofit sector. The fiscal sponsor model provides projects with the legal framework to operate without having to form their own 501(c)3. CNDC charges a 10% fee on revenues in return for the services it provides.