Blue Grama Awards

Every year the Colorado Open Space Alliance acknowledges outstanding projects through the Blue Grama Awards.

2022 Blue Grama Awards

This year’s award will be presented at the annual conference in Crested Butte, Colorado from September 19-21. Award winners are highly encouraged to attend the conference. Please review the award categories carefully before submitting the nomination form.

Outstanding Achievement in Community/Ecosystem Resilience

This award recognizes projects or programs within open space teams or on open space properties that demonstrate resilience in the face of adversity. Nominees must demonstrate creative problem solving and outcomes that champion conservation and/or community resiliency. Preference will be shown to projects that are complete or can otherwise demonstrate positive outcomes from the work, rather than those still in progress or awaiting final results.

Outstanding Visitor Engagement Program

This award is presented to an open space organization that shows innovation and leadership in volunteer engagement, environmental education, interpretation, and/or diversity and inclusion practices. Nominees must demonstrate that they have engaged in creative and exemplary work that enhances the visitor experience through education programs, volunteer opportunities, interpretive media, and/or other innovative public engagement strategies.

Outstanding Achievement in Community Partnership and Collaboration

This award recognizes achievements made in open space conservation, management, or community engagement through partnerships and collaborative efforts. The nominee’s work should include at least two or more contributing organizations which demonstrate that through collaboration, they have achieved outstanding accomplishments in open space preservation and conservation. Partnerships may include open space agencies, nonprofit entities, business groups, community organizations, local, state, and/or federal government programs or divisions.

Outstanding Achievement in Ecological Restoration or Recreation Management

This award recognizes projects or programs that have demonstrated exceptional accomplishments in ecological restoration or recreation management resulting in the conservation/protection of natural resources, enhancements in the health of a landscape, and/or the improvement of an open space area to promote safe and sustainable recreational practices. This award may also recognize innovative and successful research and monitoring programs as well as the development of sustainable recreational facilities.

Sorry, but the nomination deadline was Aug. 25.

2021 Award Winners

Outstanding Achievement in Community Partnership and Collaboration

Estes Valley Open Space Plan, A Shared Land Conservation Strategy, Larimer County Natural Resources

Outstanding Achievement in Ecological Restoration

Northern Redbelly Dace Recovery Project, Boulder County Parks & Open Space

Outstanding Visitor Engagement Program

Youth Ranger Program, City of Boulder Open Space and Mountain Parks

Outstanding Visitor Engagement Program

Volunteer COVID Information Team, Jefferson County Open Space

Outstanding Achievement in Recreation Management

Flatirons Climbing Council

Outstanding Achievement by an Individual

Matt Tobler

2019 Award Winners

Outstanding Visitor Engagement Program

City of Fort Collins Natural Areas - ROOTS Club

Outstanding Achievement in Ecological Restoration

Boulder County parks & Open Space - Lower Boulder Creek Ecological Restoration

Outstanding Achievement in Ecological Restoration

Rocky Mountain Field Institute - Waldo Canyon Burn Scar Restoration

Outstanding Achievement in Community Partnership and Collaboration

Jefferson County Open Space - Jeffco Adventure Club

Outstanding Achievement in Community Partnership and Collaboration

Interagency Boulder Mountain Bike Patrol - Boulder Mountain Bike Patrol

Outstanding Achievement by an Organization

City of Loveland - Open Lands and Trails

Other Award Winners

Outstanding Achievements by an Organization

2018 High Line Canal Conservancy
2018 City of Greeley Forestry, Natural Areas, and Trails
2016 El Paso County Fountain Creek Master Plan
2015 Eagle/Pitkin County
2014 Fort Collins - Black Footed Ferret Project
2013 Urban Drainage and Flood Control District
2012 Volunteers for Outdoor Colorado
2011 Colorado Office of TPL
2010 Arapahoe County - South Platte Working Group
2009 Great Outdoors Colorado and Adams County - South Platte Heritage Project
2008 Boulder County IGA
2007 Yampa River

Outstanding Achievement by an Individual

2016 Larry Kueter and Bill Silberstein
2015 Ron Stewart - Boulder County
2014 Rick Anderson - Adams County
2013 Rich Koopman - Boulder County
2012 Lise Aangenbrug - GOCO
2011 John Swartout - CCLT
2010 Ralph Schell - Jefferson County
2009 K-Lynn Cameron - Larimer County
2008 John Litz - Jefferson County
2007 Jim Crain - City of Boulder

Outstanding Ecological Management Program

2018 Swan River Restoration, Summit County
2016 CPW - Aquatic and Fisheries
2015 South Suburban P&R Dist. - Rehabilitation South Platte Park
2014 Ft. Collins Natural Areas Department Resource Mgmt. Work Group - Cache La Poudre Restoration
2013 Rocky Mountain Field Institute Volunteer Restoration Projects
2012 Devil's Backbone Restoration Project - Larimer County
2011 Breckenridge - Cucumber Gulch
2010 Bryon Shipley - Rattlesnake Research (Denver Zoo)
2009 Boulder County - Platt Rogers Stream Restoration
2008 Ramsay Shockey - Larimer County (Forest Mgmt.)

Outstanding Outdoor Recreation or Environmental Ed. Program

2018 City of Colorado Springs, Trails Open Space and Parks, Park Ranger School Programs
2016 Native Plant Master - Barbara Fahey
2015 City of Boulder - Classical Music Nature Hikes
2014 CPW - Schools and Outdoor Learning Environments
2013 Ag. Division of Boulder Co. Parks and Open Space - Ag. Tours
2012 City of Boulder - Access to Trails Videos
2011 Rocky Mountain Bird Observatory
2010 Castle Rock P&R - Colorado Bluebird Project
2009 Saddle Rock Golf Course - Native Plants, Aurora Parks and Open Space
2008 Preda-Tour, Aurora Parks and Open Space